Robert E. Lee: Young Confederate Childhood of Famous Americans

Aladdin 9780020420200 - A biography focusing on the childhood of the man who turned down the field command of the United States Army and became the leader of the Confederate Army during the Civil War.





Clara Barton: Founder of the American Red Cross Childhood of Famous Americans

Aladdin - With these lively, inspiring, fictionalized biographies - easily read by children of eight and up - today's youngster is swept right into history. One of the most popular series ever published for young Americans, teachers, these classics have been praised alike by parents, and librarians.





Meet Thomas Jefferson Landmark Books

Random House Books for Young Readers - As the third president of the United States, he focused on exploring the country and making it grow. His fairness and love of learning made him one of the most beloved presidents of all time. Soon he and others came to believe that the colonies should become a new country, and Jefferson was chosen to write the Declaration of Independence.

When thomas jefferson was young, Virginia was still a colony of England. Jefferson thought that many English laws and taxes were unfair, so he studied hard to become a lawyer and help make better laws.





Child's Bible History

TAN Books - 86 pgs 43 illus, pb Used book in Good Condition. Teachers can provide their classes with wonderful supplemental reading, and parents can explainthe famous Bible stories to their youngsters. An abridged version of Ignatius Schuster's Bible History. The old and New Testaments. Includes 43 beautiful drawings of biblical events.

Impr. Appropriate for reading to 3rd through 5th graders or letting 4th and above read on their own—actually, suitable for all ages. An old favorite of catechists.





English from the Roots Up Flashcards, Vol. 1

Cune - A pack of 100 flashcards for using with the book English from the Roots Up, vol I Used book in Good Condition.





The Courage of Sarah Noble

Aladdin - In this newbery honor book classic, young Sarah learns how to be brave even when the world is strange and new. The new york times book review described this book as one “to be long remembered for its beautifully written simplicity and dignity. Used book in Good Condition. And as she cares for her father and befriends her Indian neighbors, she learns that to be afraid and to be brave is the greatest courage of all.

Width - 000 Ages - 7, 9, 8, 10. Weight - 0162. The dark woods were full of animals and Indians, too, and Sarah was only eight! The true story of Sarah’s journey is inspiring. Keep up your courage, ” her mother had said, Sarah Noble, but Sarah found that it was not always easy to feel brave inside. In 1707, young sarah noble and her father traveled through the wilderness to build a new home for their family.

The Courage of Sarah Noble - Depth - 000 .





If You Lived At The Time Of The American Revolution

Scholastic Paperbacks - Scholastic Paperbacks. If you lived at the time of the american revolution--what started the American Revolution?--Did everyone take sides?--Would you have seen a battle?Before 1775, thirteen colonies in America belonged to England. Used book in Good Condition. Width - 000 Depth - 000 . This book tells about the fight to be free and independent.

Ages - 7, 9, 8, 10. Weight - 0162.





If You Lived In Williamsburg in Colonial Days

Scholastic Paperbacks - Depth - 000 Before the famous American Revolution, the United States only existed as thirteen colonies. The colony of williamsburg, Virginia became one of the most prosperous of these thirteen colonies due to it's mild southern weather and rich soil. Ages - 7, 9, 8, 10. Weight - 0162. Take a look! Used book in Good Condition.

Scholastic Paperbacks. Width - 000 With a simple question and answer format, readers can peer into this busy colony outpost and see what kind of people lived there, what they did for a living, and what their customs were. This book depicts a slice of life during the early 1770's. They were all in the Eastern part of the country and all of them were still ruled by England.





. . . If You Sailed on the Mayflower in 1620

Scholastic Paperbacks - Width - 000 Depth - 000 What if you sailed on the Mayflower?A different time. A different place. What if you were there?if you sailed on the mayflower--what could you take with you?--How would you keep clean?--What would you do when you first got to shore?Get ready to go back in time to 1620 to discover what it was like to sail the Mayflower! Used book in Good Condition.

. Scholastic Paperbacks. Ages - 7, 8, 9, 10. Weight - 0162.





Sarah, Plain and Tall

HarperCollins - Used book in Good Condition. Depth - 000 Scholastic Paperbacks. Before sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Width - 000 This beloved newbery medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother.

Sarah, plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love. This anniversary edition includes author Patricia MacLachlan's Newbery speech, a discussion guide, and a reading list. Read the rest of the sarah books by patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb’s Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather’s Dance.

Sarah, Plain and Tall - Will sarah be nice? will she sing? will she stay?this children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Newbery winners Sarah Plain & Tall. Ages - 7, 9, 8, 10. Weight - 0





Who Was Robert E. Lee?

Penguin Workshop - Robert E. Newbery winners Sarah Plain & Tall. Width - 000 Used book in Good Condition. Ages - 7, 8, 9, 10. Weight - 0162. Scholastic Paperbacks. Despite the south’s ultimate defeat, General Robert E. Depth - 000 His father was a revolutionary war hero and at west point he graduated second in his class! In 1861, when the Southern states seceded from the Union, Lee was offered the opportunity to command the Union forces.

Lee seemed destined for greatness. Lee remains one of the United States’ true military heroes. However, even though he was against the war, his loyalty to his home state of Virginia wouldn’t let him fight for the North.