The Restless Dead: David Hunter 5

Transworld Digital - And as these desolate wetlands begin to give up their grisly secrets, Hunter is reminded that it’s not the dead we need to fear. With its eerie, authentic forensics and explosive, heart-in-mouth moments, claustrophobic sense of place, The Restless Dead is a masterclass in crime fiction. A badly decomposed body has been found in the mudflats and salt marshes of the Backwaters.

. Top forensics expert dr david hunter is facing an uncertain future - his career hangs in the balance and his personal life has taken a turn for the worse. With forensics detail to rival Kathy Reichs, Simon Beckett’s menacing new thriller will leave you wanting more. So when he gets a call from Essex police, it comes at the perfect time.

The Restless Dead: David Hunter 5 - Could it be linked to two unsolved missing-person cases? But then more remains are discovered.





The Calling of the Grave: David Hunter 4

Transworld Digital - When di terry connor turns up on David Hunter's doorstep, it's an unwelcome reminder of the past in more ways than one. Especially when his own life depends on it. And the news the policeman brings is even less welcome: the psychotic rapist and murderer Jerome Monk has escaped from high security prison. Monk's is a name all too familiar to Hunter.

. The two used to be friends before Connor's behaviour caused a bitter rift. Then hunter receives a mysterious appeal for help from Sophie Keller, a young woman who also worked on the operation, he suddenly finds that the past is far from dead and buried. And now monk is on the loose - and seems to be targeting anyone involved with the original search.

The Calling of the Grave: David Hunter 4 - Neither the events unfolding now, nor those from all those years ago, are quite as they seem. Only one of the missing girls' bodies was ever found, and Monk's own controversial involvement in the search led to more failure and a violent denouement. Eight years before he'd part of an ill-fated Body Recovery team assembled to try and find the graves of Monk's teenage victims on the bleak expanse of Dartmoor.

And as the maniac's bloody trail edges ever closer, Hunter is forced to question who he can really trust.





The Scent of Death: David Hunter 6

Transworld Digital - All he knows for sure is that it’s the body of a young woman. St jude’s hasn’t claimed its last victim. His relationship is going well and he’s in demand again as a police consultant. Life is good. And that she was pregnant. A partially mummified corpse has been discovered in the hospital’s cavernous loft, but not even Hunter can say how long it’s been there.

It’s been a good summer for forensics expert Dr David Hunter. The empty shell of st jude’s Hospital now stands awaiting demolition, its only visitors society’s outcasts, addicts and dealers. For hunter, what began as a straightforward case is about to become a twisted nightmare that threatens everyone around him.

The Scent of Death: David Hunter 6 - And as the investigation springs more surprises, one thing is certain. A sealed-off chamber, still with beds inside. Some of them occupied. But the collapse of the loft floor reveals another of the hospital’s secrets. Then a call comes from an old associate: a body has been found, and she’d like Hunter to take a look.





Whispers of the Dead: A Novel of Suspense David Hunter Book 3

Delacorte Press - Within days, hunter knows he’s dealing with a serial killer, someone intimately familiar with the intricacies of forensics. Soil—and his most devastating case yet. In the heat of a Tennessee summer, Dr. A field of corpses, #1 internationally bestselling author of written in bone and the chemistry of death, laid out in a macabre display…A serial killer who confounds even the most seasoned profilers…A doctor whose life has been shattered by crime—plunged into the heart of a shocking investigation… In this masterful new novel by Simon Beckett, forensic anthropologist David Hunter is thrust into his first murder investigation on U.

S. He’s also here to find out if he’s still up to the job of sorting through death in all its strange and terrible forms. Hunter will soon find his answer when he’s called to a crime scene in a remote Smoky Mountain cabin—a scene as grisly as it is bizarre. The body is taped to a table. Hunter has come to knoxville’s legendary “body Farm”—the infamous field laboratory where law enforcement personnel study real corpses—to escape London and the violence that nearly destroyed his life.

Whispers of the Dead: A Novel of Suspense David Hunter Book 3 - And the killer keeps coming up with surprises: booby-trapping corpses, faking times of death, swapping bodies—finally turning his sights on after Hunter himself. An electrifying race against time, a fascinating journey into the world of forensic science, and a terrifying portrait of a killer in love with death itself, Whispers of the Dead is a thriller of the highest order.





Where There's Smoke

Transworld Digital - And out of control. The landing is dark. Some moments burn in the mind for ever. Although she is desperate for a baby, that is something that Kate Powell cannot accept. Single, independent, she likes to be in control of her own life - even if it has, somehow, become strangely shallow and meaningless. From the stairs sound heavy footfalls in pursuit.

Breath comes hard. Light comes from a window at the far end, enough to run by. What he looks like. The landing ends in a last doorway. Or what sort of person he is. Soon her life is out her hands. Not knowing his name. Then kate meets a man who seems to be the answer to all her problems. And kate should too. There is no more running, only the need to hide.

Where There's Smoke - . Imagine not knowing the father of your child. But we all know appearances can be dangerously deceptive.





Stone Bruises

Transworld Digital - I know then that I’m not going anywhere. Sean is on the run. We don't know why and we don't know from whom, but we do know he's abandoned his battered, blood-stained car in the middle of an isolated part of rural France at the height of a sweltering summer. Near unconscious from pain and loss of blood, he is freed and taken in by two women - daughters of the owner of a rundown local farm with its ramshackle barn, blighted vineyard and the brooding lake.

This nail-shredder of a thriller - like the fiction of Nicci French or Gillian Flynn - holds you from the beginning, tightening its grip as the story unfurls and shocks you with its final twist. In their aftermath, the silence descends again. Desperate to avoid the police, he takes to the parched fields and country lanes but his leg is caught in a vicious animal trap.

Stone Bruises - Somebody!' i half-sob and then, more quietly, 'Please. The words seem absorbed by the afternoon heat, lost amongst the trees. And it's then that Sean's problems really start.





Bridge to Burn Detective Kay Hunter Book 7

Saxon Publishing - Hell to pay5. Gone to ground7. One to watch4. Call to arms6. Scared to death2. When a mummified body is found in a renovated building, the gruesome discovery leads Detective Kay Hunter and her team into a complex murder investigation. The subsequent police inquiry exposes corruption, lies and organised crime within the tight-knit community – and Kay’s determination to seek justice for the young murder victim could ruin the reputations of men who will do anything to protect their business interests.

But as kay closes in on the killer, tragedy strikes closer to home in an event that will send a shockwave through her personal life and make her question everything she values. Can kay keep her private and professional life under control while she tries to unravel one of the strangest murder cases of her career?Praise for Bridge to Burn:"With this seventh book, this series is as fresh as ever!" - Goodreads"A gripping storyline with twists and turns all the way through" - Goodreads"Another gripping, intense ride that captivated me from start to finish" - GoodreadsHave you discovered the Kay Hunter British detective murder mysteries yet?1.

Bridge to Burn Detective Kay Hunter Book 7 - Will to live3. Bridge to burnthe detective kay hunter crime thriller series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel Amphlett: page-turning British police procedurals for readers who love Peter James, Ann Cleeves, and Peter Robinson. What readers are saying about the detective kay hunter series:“reminded me at times of Chris Chibnall’s Broadchurch series” – Crime Review“Hunter is a force to be reckoned with” – Goodreads“A series that goes from strength to strength” – Goodreads.





The Moor: A DCI Ryan Mystery The DCI Ryan Mysteries Book 12

- From the #1 international bestselling author of holy island and longstonethe circus is in town…when a ten-year-old girl turns up on DCI Ryan’s doorstep to tell him she’s witnessed a murder, he has no idea he’s about to step into his most spellbinding case yet. The circus has rolled into newcastle upon Tyne, bringing with it a troupe of daring acrobats, magicians, jugglers—and one of them is a killer.

Ryan and his team must break through their closed ranks to uncover a secret which has lain buried for eight years, before the killer strikes again – this time, to silence the only living witness…Murder and mystery are peppered with romance and humour in this fast-paced crime whodunnit set amidst the spectacular Northumbrian landscape.

The Moor: A DCI Ryan Mystery The DCI Ryan Mysteries Book 12 - Lj ross keeps company with the best mystery writers” – the times“A literary phenomenon” – Evening Chronicle“LJ Ross is the Queen of Kindle” – Sunday Telegraph.